Midwest Conservatory of Music
The 8th Annual Concerto Competition
January 2022

Elementary Division Winner

Rie Tsutsumi, violin: Mendelssohn Concerto in e, 3rd mvt.

Junior Division Winner

William Maeda, piano: Mendelssohn Concerto No. 1, 1st mvt.

Senior Division Winners

Airi Ito, violin: Tchaikovsky Concerto in D, 1st mvt.
Sean Yoshihara, cello: Elgar Concerto in e, 1st and 2nd mvts.
Niko Otsuka, clarinet: Weber Concerto No. 1, 3rd mvt.

The above winners will be playing with the Midwest Philharmonic Orchestra on March 13, 2022 at Elmhurst University’s Hammerschmidt Chapel.



Midwest Conservatory of Music students are well prepared for music competitions. Students have attended:

  • Geneva Granquist Music Competition
  • DePaul Concerto Festival For Young Performers
  • Sejong Music Competition
  • Walgreens National Concerto Competition
  • ILMEA (All State & District), Honors Orchestra

Society of American Musicians 2022 / Senior Division

1st Place: Hanna Oyasu, flute

American Association of Christian Schools National Competition 2022

1st Place: Jonathan Um, cello (Strings Solo Division)
1st Place: Kimiko Aoki, oboe/ Joann Hoo, bassoon (Small Ensemble Division)

National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America (NYO2), July 2022

Airi Ito, violin

DePaul Concerto Festival for Young Performers 2022

Honorable Mention with Distinction: William Maeda, piano
Honorable Mention: Lily Yoshihara, violin

ILMEA All-State Honors Orchestra 2022

Assistant Principal Cello: Sean Yoshihara, cello

ILMEA District 7 Senior Orchestra 2021

Concertmaster: Airi Ito, violin

ILMEA District 7 Junior Orchestra 2021

Concertmaster: William Maeda, violin

National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America (NYO2), July 2021

Airi Ito, violin

Wisconsin Flute Festival Virtual Competition: Young Artist Division, May 2020

2nd Place: Hanna Oyasu, flute

Chicago Flute Club Competition 2019 / Junior Division

2nd Place: Hanna Oyasu, flute

American Protégé International Talent Competition 2019

1st Place with Judges’ Distinction Award: Airi Ito, violin

The Heifetz Program (HeifetzPEG) for the Exceptionally Gifted/ Summer 2019

Airi Ito, violin